“Want to see God laugh? Make plans.” – Woody Allen

Standard
“Want to see God laugh? Make plans.” – Woody Allen

Feels like it is going to be a lonnnng week. But wait, it’s Friday…

Ever had days when you learn that your hard work is not going to lead down the path the way you had planned? I know you have. We all have. It can be exhausting to learn that the hard work is not over, not even easing up. But I am a firm believer of learning from mistakes, mistakes make us wiser and I am very, very wise. I don’t quit, I just find another path to get to where I want to be. “Water flows many directions down a river, but it always gets to the bottom,” I said that. I am very wise, I’ve made a lot of mistakes.

Detours in our plans can be thrilling, scary, and better than ever imagined. But sometimes, they just piss me off. I am really ready for life to be easier, maybe I set my standards to high?

Still, feeling disappointment is normal.  Getting angry is normal. Getting over it and moving on, normal. Guess this normal life normally gets frustrating. I know this too will pass, it always does. I know someday things will work themselves out.

How is it that they always seem to work themselves out? Things get worked out through trials and tribulations, we learn from the experience. If life were easy we would not grow “wiser and bolder”. Life is funny that way.

What paths unplanned led you to a better place than you ever planned on?

About Aubry MacMillan

Statement of Confession: I’m an out-and-out Carb Addict (I see no problem with fudge brownies for breakfast) and coffeeholic (to wash down the fudge brownie when it sticks to my teeth). I love crunching the ice in my tea (two things never to tell my dentist) and reading a good book (or two or three - as many as my nightstand can withstand). I’m head-over-heals-married to every woman’s (and some men’s ) dream come true. I have a multitude of children (no joke! We are “Yours, Mine, Ours, and Everyone Else’s” ) and I love them each beyond their comprehension - even though they’ll drive me to an early grave when they fight over who is NOT going to care for me in my last days… yeah, I still love them. I am an observer to the human plight (what the hell are we thinkin’?!) and compassionate lover of those who cannot defend themselves from our plight. I am a writer with the soul of those who came before me and opened the doors for me to be whomever I want. (I’m to be continued… … …)

One response »

  1. Pingback: “Want to see God laugh? Make plans.” – Woody Allen | aubrysknapsack

Leave a Reply

